Are Donuts Vegan? The Whole Truth

Are Donuts Vegan? The Whole Truth

by

Lorraine Pinnix
March 19, 2022
43 Views

When you decide to go vegan, you’re doing a lot of good for the planet, but it also means making some sacrifices along the way.

If you’re a donut lover, you’ve probably wondered if your favorite treat will be off-limits now that you’re following a plant-based diet, and what other options you have.

Are donuts vegan? Traditionally, donuts aren’t vegan friendly because they contain ingredients like milk and eggs.

However, there are plant-based donuts that don’t rely on any animal products to be made, instead of using plant milk and flax seeds as substitutes, and they’re becoming more readily available.

There’s never been a better time to be a vegan with plant-based alternatives available for just about any food you can think of.

We’ll explore the trend of vegan donuts, including how to make them for yourself, so you never have to be without your beloved sweet treat anymore.

Are Donuts Vegan?

Are Donuts Vegan?

If you love donuts and are a vegan, you’ve probably already discovered that most donuts don’t fit your dietary requirements.

While there are lots of new brands and products emerging all the time that offer a vegan alternative, the standard donut you’d find at a store is likely made with animal products.

The most common ingredients found in donuts are milk and eggs, but they might also contain forms of animal fat.

These ingredients can be in the donut batter, inside the fillings, or in the toppings, so it’s hard to avoid them no matter what type of ring-shaped treat you’re biting into.

The good news is, vegan donuts are becoming increasingly common. People are surprised to find that the plant-based version of this treat tastes just as good, if not better, as the original, and it doesn’t have any obvious differences like some vegan alternatives do.

The store-bought version is almost identical and there are loads of recipes available that let you make your own vegan donuts at home.

How to Make Vegan Donuts

How to Make Vegan Donuts

Sometimes, the best foods are the ones we make at home, and if you’re looking for a vegan donut this is especially true. This simple recipe will satisfy your ring-shaped craving without any guilt, so give it a try today.

What You Need

  • 2 tbps sunflower oil
  • Sunflower oil for deep frying
  • ½ vegan butter
  • 2 cups plain flour
  • ½ cup caster sugar
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt

The Recipe

  1. Melt the butter in a small saucepan on the stove at low medium heat. Once melted, add the milk and two tablespoons of sunflower oil. Whisk together until combined.
  2. Remove the saucepan from the heat and give the mixture time to cool.
  3. Add the flour, baking powder, salt, and half of the sugar to a bowl. Use a fork to whisk together until combined and no lumps are present.
  4. Create a well in the center of the dry mix and then slowly pour in the melted butter mixture.
  5. Combine with a wooden spoon until a thick dough forms. The mixture should not be runny but solid enough to work with your hands.
  6. Take a large tablespoon of dough and roll it in your hands, then push it down into a flat ball. Place eat of the donuts down onto a flat surface covered in parchment paper as you continue making the rest.
  7. Once all donuts are made, cover your fingers in some flour. Press a hole in the center of each flat ball so that it makes a ring shape.
  8. Add the oil to a frying pan so that it’s a few inches thick and turn the heat to medium high. Give it a couple of minutes to heat up, and throw a small piece of batter into the oil to test if it’s hot enough. The batter should sizzle and turn brown almost instantly.
  9. Use a spatula to lay one of the donuts into the oil, frying for at least three minutes on either side. Turn with the spatula and fry for another three minutes, or until golden brown on the outside.
  10. When done, lay the donuts onto a plate covered with a paper towel to soak up the oil. Pour the remaining sugar into a bowl and then toss the donuts gently into the bowl to coat it with sugar.

Can You Buy Vegan Donuts?

Can You Buy Vegan Donuts?

It’s never been a better time to be a donut-loving vegan, as these plant-based treats are now everywhere.

All kinds of stores and bakeries are committed to vegan goods, with some popular names including Voodoo Donuts, Mighty-O Donuts, and Do-Rite Donuts found strewn across the country.

Although it’s taken them a little longer, some of the biggest donut chains have announced that they’ll be making a vegan line coming soon, including Krispy Kreme and Dunkin’ Donuts.

Their traditional line will still feature animal products, but it’s a step in the right direction that they’re listening to their plant-based customers and making a change.

If you’re in the mood for a donut but want to make sure it’s vegan, asking around your local bakeries might surprise you.

Better still, you can get your hands on a box of vegan-friendly donuts without even leaving home thanks to the wonder of the internet and same-day delivery that many of these bakeries offer.

Other Plant-Based Treats to Try

Other Plant-Based Treats to Try

Donuts aren’t the only way to get a sweet treat if you’re a vegan. These are just a few suggestions for plant-based goodies on PETA’s Accidentally Vegan snack list that you can try if you’re in the mood for something naughty.

  • Kellogg’s Pop-Tarts: Any of the unfrosted Pop-Tarts in Kellogg’s lineup are totally fine for vegans to enjoy. While they’re not the most nutritionally dense option, they give you that sweet baked goods hit that you occasionally crave.
  • Oreos: Arguably the most famous accidentally vegan snack, Oreo’s come in two flavors that you can enjoy without guilt. Their original cookies and the chocolate version both contain no animal products and are okay as an occasional treat.
  • Lotus Biscoff: Biscoffspread has become a huge hit in recent years and vegans were thrilled to find they could eat it as well. With a rich, creamy, and sweet cookie taste, the spread can be eaten by the spoonful or on a piece of toast for a decadent treat that contains no animal products.
  • Lindt Swiss Thins: The Lindt chocolate brand has quite a few options that are suitable for vegans but their Dark Swiss Thins are a fan favorite. These thin chocolate treats are just enough to satisfy your sweet tooth without making you feel bad about eating something that’s bad for you.
  • Sour Patch Kids: Although most gummies are made with gelatin, Sour Patch Kids are not. You can get that delicious sweet and sour taste without having to worry if it’s vegan friendly, but we advise you not to eat too many in one sitting because they’re loaded with sugar.

Delicious Donuts Without Any Damage

Vegan donuts have managed to become one of the only plant-based alternatives that taste just as good as its non-vegan counterpart, which is positive news for donut lovers everywhere.

Whether you make them yourself or buy them from one of the brands now making a vegan donut line, you’ll be amazed at just how delicious they can be.

Related Questions

There are loads of vegan alternatives now available for some of the most commonly eaten foods, but it can take some trial and error to find brands that you enjoy.

To help you figure out the best foods that have plant-based alternatives, we’ve answered a few FAQs to get you started.

What is the Best Vegan Egg Substitute?

There are a few popular egg substitutes vegans can use in cooking and baking, depending on the meal they’re preparing and the properties they require.

Flaxseed, silken tofu, apple sauce, chia seeds, and mashed banana are just some that give the consistency and binding ability of eggs.

Is Almond Milk Better for the Environment Than Dairy?

Is Almond Milk Better for the Environment Than Dairy?

Almond milk creates around three times less greenhouse gas emissions than dairy that comes from cows, and it uses less land than soy does to grow.

However, it does use more water to grow the crops of almonds, so some downsides should be considered with any type of plant milk.

Can You Make Vegan Butter?

It is possible to make vegan butter if you don’t want to purchase any of the brands sold at the store.

The most common ingredients in homemade vegan butter are apple cider vinegar, almond milk, coconut oil, and nutritional yeast, but there are lots of different recipes available to try.

Resources:

Lorraine Pinnix

Lorraine Pinnix is a passionate nutritionist and loves seeing people living healthy, and fulfilled lives. She believes that food is an essential piece of staying fit and strongly believes in going vegan. PureGrowthOrganic is a passionate work that details her research in helping you go on complete organic diets. She is available for questions, comments, and follow-ups.