Are Frosted Flakes Vegan?

Are Frosted Flakes Vegan?

by

Lorraine Pinnix
March 19, 2022
106 Views

There are a few things that people are happy to give up when they follow a vegan diet like meats and cheeses, but breakfast cereal usually isn’t on your mind as something that might not be vegan friendly.

If you’re a fan of Frosted Flakes, you could be surprised at the ingredients within and how they might not suit your new way of life.

Are Frosted Flakes vegan? Although Kellogg’s Frosted Flakes contain no obvious animal products, the inclusion of ingredients like white sugar and vitamin D can indicate otherwise.

Before deciding whether you should include this cereal into your vegan diet, consider how strictly you want to follow your plant-based diet.

As a vegan, there are lots of delicious breakfast options to enjoy, but if you’ve got a craving for Frosted Flakes, you might want to know if you can give in to it.

We’ll look at how vegan this Kellogg’s cereal truly is and other plant-based alternatives you might like to try for breakfast instead.

What Are Frosted Flakes Made Of?

What Are Frosted Flakes Made Of?

The best way to tell how vegan-friendly a food is is by looking at its ingredients. At the surface, it seems as if frosted flakes are made predominantly of milled corn.

The difference is they also feature a thick sugar coating that gives them their sweet taste and earns them the ‘frosted’ title.

The good news is there aren’t too many ingredients found on this list so you can get an idea of what you’re eating, and there doesn’t appear to be too many food coloring or preservatives listed.

A quick look at the ingredients on the packaging of Frosted Flakes gives a better breakdown, and you’ll find the following in each box:

  • Milled corn
  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • Malt flavoring
  • Vitamins and minerals: Iron (ferric phosphate)
  • Niacinamide
  • Vitamin B6, B2, B1, B12, D3
  • Folic acid

Vegans who are also gluten-free won’t be able to enjoy a bowl of Frosted Flakes, unfortunately, even though there’s no wheat listed on the ingredient list.

The presence of malt in the ingredients indicates its unsuitability, as this derivative of barley contains gluten.

Can Frosted Flakes Be Vegan?

Can Frosted Flakes Be Vegan?

When people start following the vegan lifestyle, it can take some time to figure out which foods they can continue eating.

As one of the US’s favorite breakfast cereals, people might be wondering if they can keep eating Kellogg’s Frosted Flakes as a vegan, and it’s slightly a gray area.

The biggest issue when classifying Frosted Flakes as vegan comes from the fact that they list vitamin D3 on the ingredients.

While this sounds like a good thing to eat for breakfast, when found in foods like this, this ingredient is usually sourced from lanolin, which is the oil that comes from sheep’s wool.

Other potential non-vegan ingredients include sugar, which can sometimes be processed and refined with bone char, especially when manufactured in the US.

The bone char gives the sugar its white color and technically makes the Frosted Flakes non-vegan, for those who follow this way of eating strictly.

All vegans are different and they look at food differently, so while someone might do their best to avoid animal products, another will examine every single ingredient and its source.

There’s no right or wrong way to be a vegan, so the decision to enjoy a bowl of Frosted Flakes now and then is yours to make.

How Nutritious Are They?

How Nutritious Are They?

As far as nutritionally superior foods go, Kellogg’s Frosted Flakes wouldn’t list as high as some.

If you’re wondering how often you should eat them, they would be considered a sometimes food that should be enjoyed in moderation only.

Kellogg’s has fortified this cereal with iron from plant-based sources and a range of B vitamins, including B12 and B6, also coming from vegan-friendly sources.

It also contains a small amount of fiber and some potassium, so they’ve tried to include some healthier nutrients in there as well.

However, Frosted Flakes also contain a large amount of added sugar which makes them one of the unhealthier choices for breakfast cereal on the market.

With 12 grams per serving, around one-third of this cereal is pure sugar, so you’ll need to be mindful of how much you’re eating each week.

Vegan Alternatives to Frosted Flakes

When you’re craving a bowl of Frosted Flakes but can’t get your hands on a box, it can be hard to think of anything else that will satisfy you.

However, if you need a good plant-based alternative for breakfast, these are some others that classify as vegan friendly.

Reese’s Puffs

Reese’s Puffs

Reese’s Puffs aren’t healthy by any means but they are made with whole grains, which makes them marginally better than the competition.

These tasty peanut butter puffs do contain sugar, and it’s unclear what the source is, but if you’re looking for an accidentally vegan snack that takes you back to your childhood, they’re one of the best.

Trader Joe’s Frosted Flakes

The best alternative we’ve found for the real deal comes from Trader Joe’s with their version of Frosted Flakes. Unlike Kellogg’s products, these are guaranteed vegan and also feature slightly less processed sugar per serving.

We’re not implying that they’re healthier in any way but if feel the need for flakes that are frosted, they would be our vegan preference.

Trader Joe’s Joe’s O’s

Trader Joe’s is known for making a healthier and vegan version of our favorite cereals and this is their iteration of Cheerios.

Made with toasted whole grain oats and no animal products, you can feel a little better about eating these in the morning than some of the others on our list.

Trader Joe’s Fruity O’s

Another entry from Trader Joe’s on our list, and this time it’s their healthier and vegan friendlier version of Fruit Loops.

Fruity O’s are colorful and inviting, and they taste better than the original, plus you don’t have to wonder if you’re chowing done on some hidden animal products when you have a bowl.

Kellogg’s Corn Pops

Kellogg’s Corn Pops

Kellogg’s Corn Pops might not be the most popular cereal the brand has released, but they’re still delicious. This is another option that’s not necessarily healthy but they’re still enjoyable as a sometimes treat.

As an accidentally vegan option, you will need to be mindful of the presence of sugar in this cereal as well.

EnviroKidz Organic Munch Gorilla Cereal

EnviroKids is committed to making healthier alternatives that still taste good, and you can satisfy your cereal craving without feeling guilty about hidden animal products or loads of added sugar when you shop with them.

Organic Munch Gorilla Cereal is a little more expensive, because of its health-conscious formula, but for some, the higher price tag is worth it.

Cap’n Crunch

One of America’s most beloved cereals is also considered to be accidentally vegan.

Although it’s not the healthiest option on our list, it’s nice to know there’s another childhood option that you can snack on when you’re feeling like a treat for breakfast.

A Healthy Day Starts With Breakfast

When you go vegan, coming up with new and satisfying breakfast options can take some work, but with the right fuel for the day, you’ll notice a huge difference.

Although Frosted Flakes aren’t necessarily vegan, there are some tasty alternatives that you don’t have to feel guilty about indulging in.

Related Questions

As the most important meal of the day, getting your breakfast right is important, especially when you’re following a vegan diet.

To help you figure out some options for your daily plant-based breakfast, read on for a few FAQs that will give you a better understanding.

What Are Vegan Eggs?

Vegan eggs are a product made with mung bean protein and other spices, designed to mimic the texture and taste of chicken eggs.

Although not as nutritious as genuine eggs, they can be a good alternative for the vegan who’s been craving eggs for breakfast or as something to add to their cooking.

Which Cereal Has the Most Iron?

Which Cereal Has the Most Iron?

An iron-fortified cereal is a good solution for someone looking to add more iron into their diet without having to take supplements.

Popular cereal choices include fortified oats, shredded wheat, bran flakes, and nut crunch, with information about its iron content being listed in the nutritional profile on the packaging.

What Should a Vegan Eat for Breakfast?

There are loads of healthy and tasty breakfast foods that vegans can enjoy without sacrificing their plant-based diet.

Banana pancakes, granola, and coconut yogurt, cereals with plant milk, toast and avocado, and chia pudding with fruit are just a few examples of the variety possible.

Resources:

Lorraine Pinnix

Lorraine Pinnix is a passionate nutritionist and loves seeing people living healthy, and fulfilled lives. She believes that food is an essential piece of staying fit and strongly believes in going vegan. PureGrowthOrganic is a passionate work that details her research in helping you go on complete organic diets. She is available for questions, comments, and follow-ups.